VI Festival of Korean Culture (São Paulo) – part 3

Standard

Finally, the last part is here! I’ll be honest and say that my stalling this time had more to do with the fact that I’m not thaaat into K-pop and, therefore, don’t feel I’m all that qualified to say anything about cover bands. That and I also lost the program, so I don’t really know the names of most bands that performed. =(

Anyway, I really wanna talk about that movie festival and about some books I’ve read recently, so I just figured it’d be best to get this out of my way as soon as possible.

There’s no denying that most of the youngsters that attended this festival were there because of the K-pop attractions. Besides the presentations in the main stage, there was also a smaller stage, so instead of watching some of the traditional acts, teens could be sort of immersed in Korean pop music all day long.

The picture below was taken in the last day of the festival, around 7 o’clock, I guess. It was definitely crowded and people were having a lot of fun watching the groups.

In general, I enjoyed what I saw, but you could really tell they were amateur groups. It was the same thing in every presentation: some of the dancers were quite good, but others were not so much and there were even a few that didn’t even seem to be enjoying themselves, something that I think is essential when it comes to performing, since most audiences do notice when you’re not really into what you’re doing. But K-pop fans seem to be absolutely enthusiastic, and just hearing songs they love and seeing the choreographies that they know so well from music videos and videos of live presentations was enough, especially because Brazil doesn’t receive any K-pop concerts. Actually, much more fun than watching the groups was watching the audience’s reactions. They would cheer, scream and sing all at once, and it was definitely an amusing sight.

A couple girls from my class are in a group called Kolors and they performed a few songs and it was nice seeing them, even if I did not know some (most?) of the repertoire. The two of them are actually good dancers, so I definitely enjoyed the show they put on.

Now for the pictures… well, I’m stll coming to terms with everything my camera can and can’t do when it comes to taking photos of things that move, so these came out horrible, but they serve work just fine to show a bit of what happened.

Enjoy!


Check out more posts from this collaboration HERE.
Check out the other collaborators’ blogs here.
Check out The Korea Blog!

Leave a Reply

